Lost Horse Press

There are presently no open calls for submissions.

Established in 1998, LOST HORSE PRESS—a nonprofit independent press—publishes poetry titles, and makes available other fine contemporary literature through cultural, educational and publishing programs and activities. Lost Horse Press is dedicated to works—often ignored by conglomerate publisher—which are so much in danger of vanishing into obscurity in what has become the age of chain stores and mass appeal food, movies, art and books.

LOST HORSE PRESS is now accepting submissions for the Idaho Prize for Poetry 2017. All US poets are eligible! Entries must be postmarked by 15 May 2017, winners will be announced by 15 August 2017. The contest carries a $1000 cash prize, plus publication by Lost Horse Press. An entry fee of $25—check or money order—must accompany the mailed manuscript, or $28.00 via PayPal if you chose to submit your manuscript online using  Submittable.com. The 2017 Final Judge will be announced at a later date.

The winner of the 2016 Idaho Prize for Poetry, selected by Gary Lilley, is Essy Stone with her manuscript, What It Done to Us. 


Sungrazer by James Crews

The Moon Never Ages by Casey Charles

Ode to the Earth in Translation by George Looney

The Fire Academy by Dana Roeser

Southern Tongues Leave Us Shining by Mark Wagenaar

 [ganbatte] by Sarah Kortemeier

White Birds by John Clarke

Sad Atlas by Bradley Harrison

Same Water Flowing by Judith Small

A Filament Burns in Blue Degrees by Kendra Tanacea

Talking to Yourself Is Fine by Sally Dawidoff

The Infinity Room by Gary Fincke

Habitat Group by Dave Snyder

LOST HORSE PRESS extends a hearty Thanks! to Final Judge Gary Lilley, Congratulates the winner Essy Stone, and Thanks the Finalists and all who submitted their work to the Idaho Prize 2016.